



# **Domestic Violence and Sex Offender Management Annual Conference**

# **Past Award Recipients**

# Gary Burgin Sex Offender Management or Treatment Leadership Award

This award will honor a person who exhibits the attributes of effective leadership in sex offender management or treatment. This person should have respect among peers, and a high level of integrity. This person should promote collaboration, and his/her efforts should have resulted in positive change and significant contributions to their community or the state in sex offender management or treatment. This award is appropriate for treatment providers, supervision officers, caseworkers, researchers, and other professionals responsible for sex offender management/treatment.

#### Who was Gary Burgin?

Gary Burgin was a probation supervisor for the 18th Judicial District Probation Department. He was a member of a number of different committees for the Domestic Violence Offender Management Board including the Domestic Violence Treatment Review Committee, and assisted with the movement to a risk and need based approach to offender treatment and supervision. He passed away after a lengthy battle with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) on February 22, 2008.

### **Previous Recent Awardees**

2016 Steven H. Parker 2017 S. Michael Dunlap 2018 Sue Wich 2019 Dr. Kevin Powell 2021 Bob Dix, LPC

### Senator Norma Anderson Excellence in Victim Advocacy Award

This award will honor a person who exhibits excellence, innovation, or creativity in victim representation. This person should demonstrate exceptional compassion, dedication, and commitment to victims. This award is appropriate for victim advocates and representatives, victim therapists, law enforcement, and other professionals who work with or for victims.

Who was Norma Anderson?







#### Office of Domestic Violence & Sex Offender Management 700 Kipling, Suite 3000 • Lakewood, CO 80215 • 303.239.4442

Norma Anderson was elected to the Colorado House of Representatives from 1981-1998, and served as Majority Leader. She then was elected to the Senate from 1999-2005, and served as Majority Leader of the Senate, becoming the first woman ever to serve as

Majority Leader in both the House and the Senate. She cites one of her biggest legislative accomplishments was the Lifetime Supervision Act for individuals convicted for a sexual offense.

**Previous Recent Awardees** 

2016 Spiro Koinis 2017 Karmen Carter 2018 Renee Stewart 2019 Mary. S Mclver 2021 Jennifer Eyl, JD

### Denise Fransua Domestic Violence Offender Management Leadership Award

This award will honor a person who exhibits the attributes of effective leadership in domestic violence offender management. This person should exhibit charisma, demonstrate exceptional compassion, dedication, be influential and driven to make a difference in either reducing the occurrence of domestic violence or making a difference in the lives of victims of domestic violence. His/her/their efforts should have resulted in positive change and significant contributions to their community or the state in domestic violence offender management. This award is appropriate for treatment providers, supervision officers, victim advocates, law enforcement, caseworkers, and other professionals responsible for domestic violence offender management.

#### Who was Denise Fransua?

Denise Fransua was an amazing woman, she was always kind, willing to help everyone and overall loved life. She was a wonderful friend, daughter, sister and mother. Denise was a Probation Officer for the 18th J.D. Probation Dept. and had worked previously for the 17th J.D. Denise completed her Master's Degree and was to begin as an Adjunct Professor for the Community College of Denver in the fall of 2011. On May 17, 2011, Denise lost her life to Domestic Violence. Her family and friends think of her often and miss her dearly.

**Previous Recent Awardees** 2021 Ellen Stein Wallace

